Well done, DealMe. Terrible work, Bugatti’s Bar & Grill

Kudos to Dealme for sorting out a bad situation.

We bought a voucher for a place out in the sticks called “Bugatti’s Bar & Grill”, because it looked like it had good steaks.

However, after the deal went through, we got the following email from the restaurant:

Hi Folks,

Thank you purchasing the Deal Me Vouchers for Lunch or Dinner here @Bugatti’s Bar & Grill, there was a miss print on the vouchers and the advertising when the vouchers went out so the following conditions apply

. $10 surcharge on steaks ( Rib Eye & New York T bone are not available on the deal)

. BYO wine is not to be used in conjunction with the vouchers

. Dinner Vouchers can only be used Tuesday to Thursday nights only

Given the goose who sent it managed to send it to all 70-odd people who bought the deal without BCCing the addresses, he copped a lot of abuse and we all saw it, so it kind of fed itself.

DealMe replied a week or so later with this, which seemed fine.

Hi there,

Thank you for your patience.

Our National Manager has discussed with the Vendor and the Vendor has confirmed that your voucher will be honoured as the deal you purchased it for.

Please note the Vendor was unaware that authorised changes had been made to the deal that ran live with us.

We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Should you have any further queries, please let us know.

So we made the booking, turned up, and – surprise, surprise – the bar had changed the conditions again – nothing was said when I rang to book, but when we arrived we were told that there was a $10 surcharge per person for the steaks and the lamb. Really unimpressed that we were told by Dealme that it was sorted, and not told when ringing to book that they were not honouring the deal as printed.

So I emailed DealMe to complain, and got the following from them:

Hi Juice,

Just a follow up on the previous email I sent you.

I have processed a refund in good faith for you as we do not agree with what this client has done.

We are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused.

Please allow up to 5 days for the funds to be shown into your account.

In the meantime if you have any further questions please reply back to this email.

Have a lovely day!
Regards, XXXXX

An excellent customer-focussed resolution from DealMe, but we’d never go back to Bugatti’s, both because of the continual deception from them, and the fact that the food – badly-cut steaks, all cross-grained, hard to eat – was far below average quality but massively over-priced, with more than city prices in an outer-suburban setting. (And no, it makes no difference to me that the person who authorised the deal at the bar been sacked, he wasn’t the one who made the decision to not tell people booking with vouchers that they were again after a surcharge.)

Never again.

This entry was posted in Chirmside Park, DealMe!, Vouchers. Bookmark the permalink.

9 thoughts on “Well done, DealMe. Terrible work, Bugatti’s Bar & Grill

  1. I hear your problem but a couple of things. Chirnside park is not in the sticks secondly you weren’t dining at a five star restaurant so I’m not sure why you expected give star quality.

    • Two things:

      1) Yep, it’s in the sticks, and

      2) Not really sure why you’ve made up the “five star” bit. If you think that sort of behaviour is reasonable from ANY level of business I hope I never end up dealing with you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *